Recap 8/20

1. While Evan is away at school, Sean has decided he wants to go too.

2. I’m barely ok with one child away at school.

3. The Husband is salivating at the thought of a second income once the next two are in school.

4. I could use a vacation, or at least a nap.

5. I’m still brainstorming non-nut lunches.

6. Because of the change in the household, Sean is having potty issues.  I’m not looking forward to the next trip The Husband is taking.

7. Why are California King sheets so expensive and so damn hard to find?

8. Six weeks without The Husband’s car, which the mechanics have upped the estimated cost.  There goes the weekend family trip.

9. There’s all kinds of crazy going on in my head.

10. Sean is a talker; now that Evan’s not around filling the air with his chatter.

6 Responses to “Recap 8/20”

  1. zeemaid Says:

    wouldn’t life be so much easier if we could just send a PB&J sandwich with them? I bet Sean will start to enjoy having mommy to himself, well mostly to himself. 😉

  2. ck Says:

    #5 kills me too. I wind up cooking tortellini every morning and then feeling guilty for feeding it to my kids every school day.

    #9 – big hugs. Hope you’re okay.

  3. Fie Upon This Quiet Life Says:

    I was shocked to learn that Eldest’s school ALLOWS peanut butter! Hurray! But now, he might be switching schools, and I don’t know if the new school allows peanut butter. Boo! As for non-nut ideas: chicken nuggets, pasta, string cheese, any kind of fruit, any kind of veggie, a plain ol’ jelly sandwich, some kind of meat sandwich. That’s all I can think of right now. What I want is easy, though, and that’s, like, lunchables. Not always the healthiest option, I guess. Mainly, we’re sending PBJ, a fruit (typically strawberries or bananas, since that’s what he likes), and a granola bar. Riveting, eh?

  4. incognitomom Says:

    Ugh, the non-nut thing. I understand the whole nut allergy thing but it sucks for the rest of us. Shorty loves peanut butter on graham crackers and those little 100 calorie bags of almonds. I’d love to send them as a snack in his lunch some days but the school is adamant about no nuts because there are children that have allergies.

    The whole car thing sucks. Is all this technology really necessary?

    Hope the crazy goes away soon. Hugs sweetie!

  5. jc Says:

    Try Sunbutter. It’s made from sunflower seeds and tastes EXACTLY like peanut butter. You will not be able to tell the difference, there’s even Chunky kind, and Creamy kind. TRY IT. I have peanut allergies and the sunbutter is awesome in ice cream, on celery, I snack on it with the knife. It’s difficult to bake with – I have yet to make non-burnt cookies. Everyone who tries it is surprised.

    One of my favorite little lunch snacks is a piece of deli ham wrapped around a mozz cheese stick. I do croissant rolls from the freezer package toasted then topped with cream cheese and strawberry jelly, or sunbutter. And saltine crackers with a piece of cheese and pepperoni stacked.

    Where’s Witch with the snack ideas? *paging Witch, report to Fae, STAT*

  6. faemom Says:

    zeemaid~ Maybe. We can only hope.
    ck~ #5 I’ve been sending mini bagels with cream cheese. I love the tortellini idea! #9 Thanks. I take it one day at a time.
    Fie~ Thanks for the ideas. I think the variety is more for our seakes than their’s. Too often it feels like we’re trapped in the movie Groundhog Day.
    Incognito~ I used to get upset about the nut thing, but then I realized I would have someone’s head if my child was exposed to something he was alergic to. The worst part is The Husband’s car is push button start. D’oh. And thanks.
    jc~ THANKS! For all the ideas. I can’t wait to try sunbutter.


Leave a Reply

