Playdate

It was Tornado S’s first playdate.  And really it was mine too.  As I talk with the other moms at the Tornado E’s school at drop-off and pick-up, Sean has become friends with a little boy his age named G.

Last week:

G’s Mom: G, we have to leave to take you to school.

G: Mommy!  Can I stay and play with my best friend Torando S?

Who can say no to that?  So they stayed a little longer, and G’s Mom and I decided on a playdate for yesterday.

The boys had fun.  The moms had fun as we got to talk to an actual adult and she got to tell me all her excellent plans for her Halloween parties.  Soon time passed, and we had to feed our boys and put them down for naps.

As I loaded up Tornado A and finished my conversation with the other mom, the boys ran around an olive tree.  All of a sudden, G pulled down his pants and started peeing on the olive tree.

Me: Oh my.

G’s mom turned around, horrified.

Then I started laughing.

She started laughing.

Then G started shaking his hips, playing with the stream of urine.  We only laughed harder.  G finished and pulled up his pants.

Me: If that’s not a boy thing, I don’t know what is.

G’s mom: I blame it on my husband.  He taught G he could be outside in hopes to make potty training more fun.

Me: Like I said.  It’s a guy thing.

And then I proceeded to explain The Penis Rules and the direct violation of Penis Rule 3.

4 Responses to “Playdate”

  1. zeemaid Says:

    HAH. I love it when you meet another mom and they so get you! Fortunately, O has not figured out about peeing outside yet. He did figure out he could pee standing up but he only did it for like a week or so and now he’s back to sitting. Is my husband weird? *L*

  2. Jane Says:

    Ahhh, the Penis Rules! I printed them out, remember? Gotta love the Penis Rules!

  3. Fie Upon This Quiet Life Says:

    If I didn’t have play dates, I would die. Seriously – my mom friends have saved my life time and again just by having someone else who “gets” what I’m going through. I never was a girlie girl, and most of my friends growing up were guys, so when I had eldest, I resisted the whole play date thing. But then, when he started preschool, at 2.5 years old, I started having play dates. And I was saved. Finally, I was able to be a happy parent for the first time. What misery I had been in, I can’t even describe. But now? I have regular play dates and “mom-only” coffee dates. I couldn’t live without them now.

  4. itneverrainsinseattle Says:

    I find my own boys *so* much easier to handle when they are on playdates. Even if the playdate is here. And the visiting children’s mom (it’s always the mom, I can never get the dad to come over. What the hell?) ends up just dropping the kids off here and it’s just me supervising a house full of kids. EVEN THEN, playdates are so much easier than just the boys on their own.

    My guys don’t seem to have the same penis playdates that yours do, but maybe that’s because my boys have a less weird father… me! 🙂

    (I find your stories hilarious, anyway!)


Leave a Reply

