Feeding

We are finally getting to some of my favorite times of mommyhood with Tornado A.  He’s eating real food.  Pureed to mush, something-I-would-never-touch food, but real food, none the less.  And he LOVES it.  I know; no surprises there.

Every food is a new surprise, a new taste, a new experience.  They are the building blocks to all his eating experiences for the rest of his life.  Sure, he may not like squash a year from now, but he tasted it and even liked.  It’s an exciting adventure I get to share in as a pulverize cooked fruits in the blender.  Soon I’ll come up with tasty little meals, then with finger foods.

When we start on meals, I’ll be able to pull out the baby food dish.  The dish that my grandma fed her children from and then her grandchildren.  A ceramic hallow dish that has to be filled with hot water to keep the food warm.  My grandma gave it to me when Tornado E was a baby and I was explaining how The Husband was concerned with heating food in the microwave.  I love that dish.  It connects me with my past and my future.

I love sitting down and spooning food into a waiting mouth, making “Ahhhh” and “Mmmm” sounds.  I love the happy smile.  I love the exciting need, the impulsive want, the hungry mouth moving towards the food.  I love the grubby hand who reaches out and grabs the spoon, trying to feed himself. Tornado A death-grips the spoon, keeping it in his mouth so that he can suck every drop of food off the spoon, hoping it will replenish itself without leaving his mouth.  I love that little messy face.

Tornado A’s had rice, bananas, squash, apples, and plums.  (Does anyone know why they call plums, prunes?)  Today will be another adventure, another mystery food.  Onward, to experience life.

3 Responses to “Feeding”

  1. Jane Says:

    Oh, how I miss those days! I’m going to have to live vicariously through your posts. Keep ’em comin’!

  2. Gibby Says:

    I remember how the sweet potatoes would stain my little one’s chubby cheeks for days. I sort of miss that.

  3. faemom Says:

    Jane~ Anything for you, Jane.
    Gibby~ It’s amazing what we miss as they get older. It helps that they can’t complain about what’s for dinner.


Leave a Reply

