Recap 12/17

1. Can anyone else believe it’s midway through December already?  Where did the year go?!

2. Isn’t it my luck that the grandma in front of me moved into the view of the Flip right when Tornado E gave his line for the Christmas pageant?

3. Tornado A is really working on that crawl.  He loves being under the Christmas tree.

4. I agree with my BFF; my readers kick-ass.

5. I found the secret of convincing kids to get ready for the day right away.  Bribe them with video playing time before school.  (I know.  Please send the Mother of The Year award to me.)

6. My boys ask for the one food we are out of.  Constantly.

7. Tornado S nods his head with a big, sweet smile, when asking for something, trying to make the adult agree with him.

8. Tornado E REALLY wants a Blizzard Maker, but after reading it takes 20 minutes of cranking, I think Santa isn’t going to bring it.

9. Poor Tornado A.  His nose stops up at night, forcing him to spit out his binky to breathe.  Then he finds he’s lost his binky and wakes up, crying.  I wake up, pop the binky back into his mouth, listen to his stopped up breathing, praying that he would sleep through the night.  The process is repeated every hour.  God, I need sleep.

10. Who raised these women who have all their gifts bought and wrapped in wrapping that matches their perfectly coordinated Christmas tree and their perfectly coordinated decorated house, baking up tons of Christmas cookies that are given to friends and family in matching tubs (which, of course, match the tree), sending out adorable cards a couple of weeks before Christmas?  If I wasn’t so busy, I would go egging.

11 Responses to “Recap 12/17”

  1. Brea Says:

    #1 – I know, RIGHT?
    As far as Aidan being stopped up, can you put a little Vick’s, just a dab, on his chest? I’ve always hated it, it used to make me gag when I was a kid, but if you put just a small amount on a warm washcloth, then rub it gently on them, it does help.

    Sorry to hear he’s not feeling well, hope he gets better soon, and you can get some sleep!

    🙂

  2. insider53 Says:

    Oh that last one…. I just hate that. Love the women who can do it because they are also the nicest women on the planet(of course) but I feel so inadequate to the task of decorating this year.

  3. zeemaid Says:

    My suggestion for Aidan’s stopped up nose is saline solution. You can get either little natural salline mist sprayers or it comes in a plastic tube that you can apply drops. Anyways it works like a charm. It “eats” away at the snot and helps keep their membranes from drying out. It seemed to work real well for my kids.

    Oh and I’d be happy to buy the eggs. 🙂

  4. jc Says:

    #8. I had a Snoopy Snow Cone maker that had an ice grinder in the middle. Holy crap did that thing take some elbow, arm, and hand grease! Toys that result in 5000 cramps, blisters, and sores should be mailed directly to hell.

  5. letmestartbysaying Says:

    Re: #10
    these women suck. I use old paper, wrap terribly, my kids will wear whatever they’ll put on, theres loads of Lucky Charms marshmallows under my kitchen table acting as holiday decor, and the only cookies we make here are pre-fab.
    Merry Christmas?

  6. incognitomom Says:

    Hope Aiden’s nose clears up soon. My suggestion is a cool mist humidifier and saline drops.

    #8 – Yeah Shorty asked for the Buzz Lightyear Wings but after he made a comment about using them to fly, as he looked from our upstairs hallway down into the family room, I decided that he wasn’t getting them. I’m not taking chances that my kid my actually try to fly and end up with a broken neck.

    As for #10, yeah I hate them too. I am soooo behind this year. Figures the one year my husband got the lights on the outside early is the one year I can’t get my act together. We have a tree but it’s not decorated yet. Christmas cards will finally go out tomorrow. Wrapping? HAHAHAHAHA, I still need to buy wrapping paper. I have one or two gifts left to buy. And the only cookies in this house will be the refrigerated dough kind. Only 75% of the inside decorations are out. I’m hosting Christmas dinner and I have yet to buy the food. Good news is that since my husband is now on vacation for the rest of the year he can watch the kid while I try to get it all done in the next few days.

  7. faemom Says:

    Brea~ I totally forgot about Vick’s. Thanks!
    insider~ I realized my boys would tear apart any cool decorations any ways, so why try?
    zeemaid~ I adore you!
    jc~ LOL I love you!
    lmsbs~ Lucky Charm marshmallows are the perfect holiday decoration!
    incognito~ Thank God, Shorty made that obvious comment! And of course, you’re behind; every family has to have one. Usually it’s the husband. Shame on him for taking up the other spot. Geeze.

  8. The Violinist Says:

    #10… can i join you in the egging? i’ve wrapped 0 presents (still haven’t finished shopping actually) and i need to cook and clean today and tomorrow because i have to work thurs/fri/sat. and then i’m hosting christmas dinner at my house AFTER i put in a 9 hour day at work. i think i’m certifiable

  9. faemom Says:

    Ok, seriously, what is wrong with you? I say that with all the love I have for you. Get some rest!

  10. The Violinist Says:

    i’ve also discovered i have this incredible anal-retentiveness about my kitchen. I have this overwhelming desire to make this gourmet meal (and i could pull it off, if i didn’t have to work), so i’ve compromised and bought a honey baked ham and some pre-made scalloped potatoes from Costco. But i want to micro manage everyone else and what they bring. I can’t just say to my mother in law “bring a salad” – i want to say “bring a salad, but it needs to be mesculin greens and bring these toppings -blue cheese, cranberries, etc…” seriously. i need help. i think. 😀

  11. faemom Says:

    If you’re working that day, you need to let go and let people do things.


Leave a Reply

