Comradery

I’m not sure what I like about school the most, the hours of only two children with a blissful hour no children or the comradery.

Within a week of Tornado E starting school, I realized I wasn’t alone and my child wasn’t crazy.  My blogging friends, you opened the window, but since I never saw your kids, I assumed I read the worst/best parts or maybe we were all alike with rare children.  And then to see real flesh-and-blood children, who were angels most of the time, become raving little manic monsters, I smiled to myself and then hid it to give my condolences to the parents who were about to enter the ring.

This morning I commiserated with another mom about how we have to stand over our five-year-olds to make sure they were ready for school.

Yesterday I agreed with another mom that the bowling party we all attended was indeed chaos and would wait a few years before attempting it again.

This weekend, at said party, I quoted my raptor quote, and he laughed and agreed that his boys were attacking the lines looking for weakness too.

So at 2:30, I’ll stand with the other moms, with our eyes on our children running around the desert area like the savages they are, and we will talk.  We’ll convince ourselves in our heads that we are there because the kids need to destress after a hard day at school or that our children need the social interaction.  But really we’re there because WE need the social interaction.  That and one hour less minding our children by ourselves in a house we will have to clean later is a Godsend.

Now if only I got a flask . . . .

3 Responses to “Comradery”

  1. kloppenmum Says:

    “That and one hour less minding our children by ourselves in a house we will have to clean later is a Godsend.” So true. 🙂

  2. Fie Upon This Quiet Life Says:

    Mom friends are very important. It’s impossible to do this parenting thing when you feel alone and isolated. I have really been missing my mom friends lately. We started a new school and haven’t really kept up with any of them. And the new school? No mom friends yet. It’s weird how that works.

  3. Gibby Says:

    This made me laugh out loud…I do like going to the school and looking around, realizing “my kid’s not the only crazy one!” 😉


Leave a Reply

