I didn’t order a wake up call

I’m giddy and slightly delusional from lack of sleep.  I won’t crash until the afternoon, which I figured that I might as well write while Tornado S is being educated by Sesame Street.  Maybe they can teach him the ABCs, since I’m having little success.

My dreams were invaded by baby talk.  I didn’t wake up right away.  Lately my dreams are all about being domesticated.  The nightmares are about cleaning up toys.  So when it finally penetrated my mind that the noise wasn’t part of the dream, I sat up.

To find Tornado A sitting in his crib, talking to me.

Leaving this thought process: What?  What time is it?  It’s f-ing a quarter to five!  Oh no!  Over my dead body!  Come here.  Snuggle with Mommy because you WILL go back to sleep.  I need to drop the crib tomorrow- I mean today.  Later today I need to drop the crib mattress.  Don’t grab Mommy’s nose; grab the bear.  What?  What is that noise of padded feet?  Oh no!  Tornado E!  Damnit.  Don’t crawl on your brother.  Tornado A ignore your brother.  Go to sleep!  Tomorrow I’m calling the rental company about a bigger house.  I mean today.  Was it worth staying up incredibly late last night?  Ssssshhh.  Yes, it was.  Stupid intern-

Luckily everyone slept in, and I woke twenty minutes before they awoke, so I got going early, and we were able to get to school on time with minimal use of The Voice.

Only to have Tornado E gleefully announce he left his lunch box at home.

Errrrrrr.

8 Responses to “I didn’t order a wake up call”

  1. Fie Upon This Quiet Life Says:

    I cannot, CANNOT sleep with my kids. They toss and turn too much — not to mention the kicking. I tried it a few times to see if they would settle down better with me. Nope. They either think it’s play time in mommy’s bed, or they kick me. Little buggers. Glad you got a little rest.

  2. zeemaid Says:

    I’m sorry Fae I had to chuckle as I read this because I just wrote a post whining about not having more babies. That and the leaving my lunch box at home…. with us it was dance shoes. Why oh Why do the mom’s have to be the ones to remember everything?

  3. kloppenmum Says:

    We have one who wakes regularly at 5.30am, sometimes earlier…I’ve learned to be an early riser, but he’s ended up in our bed too. Love those extra cuddles!

  4. faemom Says:

    Fie~ I’m not a big fan. Years of sleeping with Evan kicking me and trying to push me out of bed have cleared up any romantic notion of the family bed. But deseperate situations call for desperate messures.
    zeemaid~ Because it’s what we signed up for. I just wish someone had told me.
    kloppenmum~ 5:30! And how I mourned when they went from early rising at 7 to 6. I’m so sorry.

  5. kloppenmum Says:

    So am I…5.30am is early – luckily he’s a dawn to dusk boy so winter is later – thankgoodness I don’t live near to the North Pole – I’d be woken before I went to sleep!
    It took six months for our children not to think the family bed was for fun or for kicking the living daylights out of us – but we love it now.

  6. faemom Says:

    You’re a braver woman than I. But then Evan is constantly trying to push me off the bed. We have a HUGE bed. Plenty of room not to give me three inches.

  7. kloppenmum Says:

    Aaaahhh, we have two queen sized beds for the five of us…only way we could do it. I still manage to get squished between the youngest two boys, but I love it!

  8. faemom Says:

    That’s awesome.


Leave a Reply

