Let me clarify that

It became obvious that it was time to leave the mothers’ circle behind, since Tornado A was trying to climb out of my arms and Tornado S was telling me, “I’m bored; I want to go home; I want to go home; I’m bored.”  So I bid goodbye to the other mothers’ who were lucky to have their only children in kindergarten.  As I walked to the car, Tornado S, moving at his own pace, stopped turned and waved to the other moms.

Tornado S: SEE YOU LATER!

And I laughed.  Because it was adorable.

Tornado S: (arms folded and scowling) MOMMY!  You don’t laugh at me!

Me: (laughter still in my voice) Baby, I wasn’t laughing at you but with you.  (Wait.  That’s not right.)  I was laughing because of you.

Tornado S glared at me.

Tornado S: MOMMY!  You don’t laugh at me!

Me: Hold on.  Let me put Tornado A down.

I opened up the car and placed Tornado A in his seat.  I strapped him down so that he wouldn’t wiggle out and fall out of his seat.  Blood is difficult to get of car upholstery.  I walked back to Tornado S.

Tornado S: Mommy!  Hold me!

I picked him up and looked him in the eyes.

Me: You know, I love you very much.  And I didn’t laugh at you.  I laughed because you make me so happy.  I’m a lucky mommy.  I have the best Tornado S in the world.  And I love you.

Tornado S: I love you too!  Mommy!

I placed him in his seat.

Tornado S: Mommy!  You want me to be a little boy?!

Me: Yes.  I would love for you to stay a little boy, but I don’t think you will want to do that.

Tornado S: Mommy!  I be big like you some day!

Me: Yes.  You’ll probably be bigger.

Tornado S: And I will still love you!

Me: I will always love you.

Tornado S: I love you too!  Mommy!

And then we repeated that over and over until Mumford & Sons came on with “The Cave,” and Tornado S asked me to turn it up.  Which I did.  Because I love that song.  And I love that kid.

7 Responses to “Let me clarify that”

  1. TheKitchenWitch Says:

    Dangit. You just made me cry. I love that you shared this moment with Sean with us.

  2. kloppenmum Says:

    Love those times…see the good old days…

  3. D Says:

    Aww.. Sean is such a cutie-pie.. 🙂 Made me tear up..

  4. jc Says:

    ok, that totes makes up for the toilet episode.

    that’s quite the song choice!

  5. faemom Says:

    TKW~ You’re welcome?
    kloppenmum~ I’ll never mock the good old days again.
    D~ Yes, he is.
    jc~ Well, he rocks my world; he asked to watch “The Office” yesterday.

  6. jc Says:

    If he asks to watch Alien, I will totes adopt him.

  7. faemom Says:

    I’ll let you know; then you can borrow him once a month or so.


Leave a Reply

