If I let their brains rot

I have two boys, naked with boots on, plugged into the TV, with lunch, untouched and waiting, on their little table in the kitchen.  I wonder how long I have before Aidan wakes up and ruins my alone time with a crowd.  Can I measure it in how many blog posts I will get to read?  3.  6.  Probably just 1 because my boys can sense when I’m actually free.  Just like they sense when I’ve stayed up too late and therefore they have to get up extra early to punish me. 

Evan is sick.  And he is devastated.  My social butterfly cannot go to school and hone his fledging skills as the class clown.  His teachers must be rejoicing.  I haven’t had the heart to tell him he will be missing his first t-ball practice tonight.  Not after his grandparents showered him with a new glove, bat, cleats, and pants yesterday. 

So instead, I plugged him into the TV.  It’s the only thing that will keep him the f- down.  Nothing else will.  Play-dough: for five minutes.  Toys: for five minutes.  Coloring: no.  Board games: until he loses.  Puzzles: the hell no.  So I play the bad mom and let my kids become TV zombies as I cross things off my list and write and let Aidan follow me around the house. 

Then will come The Day After the Illness.  And Hell will break loose because I won’t allow the zombies to feast on hours of cartoons.  I won’t let them just sit around.  I won’t let them whine.  Then I’ll start thinking about getting rid of the TV.

Or the kids.

I haven’t decided which yet.  Ask me in a couple of days.

11 Responses to “If I let their brains rot”

  1. kloppenmum Says:

    LOL
    You *know* which I’d say!
    Time-outs are blessings for Mums, especially when the kids are sick. Hope he’s back to health again soon. 🙂

  2. jc Says:

    Psst. Maybe the twits at my workplace will sign for another *special delivery* wink wink nudge nudge. They are already expecting Nap’s Nutty boys, I doubt they will flip over an exponential increase in testosterone in their mailbox. They would celebrate their success recruitment of more dudes. I promise. Don’t worry, they don’t need any skills here. Pack some coloring books. They’ll fit right in.

  3. zeemaid Says:

    ah. you gotta do what you gotta do. It’s not like they do this every day 24/7. If they never wanted to play with their toys and use their imaginations… then I’d worry.

  4. ck Says:

    The Day After the Illness is the WORST. Part of me rejoices with the freedom that comes with sick TV days. But the day that follows kinda makes me want to take my kids to the mall play areas and have them sneezed and coughed on.

  5. faemom Says:

    kloppenmum~ I am really considering getting rid of the TV. It’s really expensive and too easy of a crutch.
    jc~ I may totally take you up on that offer.
    zeemaid~ You’re so practical. Thanks.
    ck~ What an awesome plan! Take my kids to the mall playground whenever I need a day or two to get stuff done. Brilliant.

  6. kloppenmum Says:

    …I dare you…;)

  7. faemom Says:

    I’m canceling today. Actually, I’ll do it right now, so I don’t forget.

  8. Karyn @ kloppenmum Says:

    Good for you!
    We had three weeks of withdrawl behaviours and then the kids calmed down heaps. At around the same time I taught our kids how to build huts using blankets and chairs. They were soon taking over the lounge and having a ball. Just ask if you find you need some ideas to get through the initial stages. 🙂

  9. faemom Says:

    I’m going to wean them off slowly since we don’t have a big backyard for me to shove them off into. But I will take you up on that offer of suggestions. Thanks.

  10. Karyn @ kloppenmum Says:

    Great plan.
    I have just been pointed in the direction of flylady.net – which has put my sense of being ‘out-of-control’ with the house in perspective too – her ideas might help with enough structure to keep you sane while the whole weaning process takes place. Good luck, will be sending you positive vibes and virtual-coffee. 🙂

  11. faemom Says:

    I’ll totally check it out. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

