Bald

I have hinted before that my mom was diagnosed with breast cancer last November.  It has really shaken things up here.  Not only did it make a crappy year even crappier (stupid 2010), it has changed how often we see my parents as well as altered my babysitting help. It has darkened my mortality, but it has brought out the optimism and fighting nature of my mom.  Granted, it helped that she realized she needed back on antidepressants.  And yes, my dad and brother are grateful.

But with cancer-fighting comes chemo.  And with chemo comes the dramatic loss of hair.  As my mom struggled with the thought of being bald, my dad made the decision to finally shave his head, something my mom had wanted him to do for years.  It was a huge thing for my dad because he’s been bald for years, and the thought of loosing ALL of his hair nearly killed him.  Since my dad was doing it, my baby brother volunteered.  That was a huge deal because his widow’s peak gets more noticable by the month, and he prefers to hide it.

Since my dad and baby brother were shaving their heads, my mom asked me what I was planning to do.  For five agonizing minutes I thought.  “Mom.  (deep breath)  (another deep breath)  What about the Little Brother?”  Yeah, I couldn’t do it.  (And apparently, neither could he.  Wuss.)

But since my mom, my dad, the most favorite uncle – The Friendly Giant- were shaving their heads, Tornado E decided to do the same.  What could we say?  Sure, he doesn’t know exactly why everyone is doing it.  It’s not the same sacrifice.  But he did in solidarity too.

So we took him to get his head shaved.

After two passes with the razor, Tornado E turned to me and said, “Mommy, I’m done now.”

Um, no.

With just one more pass to go on the razor, Tornado E turned to me, “I like it like this.  Can we stop now?”

Um, hell, no.

When it was all shaved off, Tornado E looked at himself in the mirror, giggled, and whirled around the barber shop like the tornado he is.  He loved it.  We loved it.  My mom cried when she saw it.  Some of the moms at school cried when they saw it.

The next day, Tornado E jumped around the house in the middle of some daydream.  He looked up and called, “HEY, MOMMY!  You need to buy me a wig now that I’m bald!”

Um, no.

I’m thankful that I didn’t allow his head to get flat.

6 Responses to “Bald”

  1. zeemaid Says:

    aww. How sweet of him. It looks good on him!

    I don’t think I could have shaved my head either Fae! No matter how much I may hate my hair at times… I still love it way too much.

  2. jc Says:

    My BFF’s sister-in-law went through chemo, and the entire family shaved their heads to support her. Really cool. This past Halloween was hilarious. They painted their heads like pumpkins and went as headless horsemen.

    Hey, I got the stickers! HILARIOUS! The puffy unicorn is the bestest. Need a special place for it. I will mail yours out on Monday – this sleepy hollow is shut down for break, nothing is open. THANK YOU! *sniffing strawberry*

  3. Karyn @ kloppenmum Says:

    How awful for your Mum. And I would struggle to shave my hair too, sweet that Evan did though. I think our boys would want to do that and then want to stop half way too. Thinking of you.

  4. TheKitchenWitch Says:

    Evan is wonderful. As are you.

  5. Deidra Says:

    I will pray for your mother and for unity in strength among your family. I know all too well what you are going through…God Bless ❤

  6. faemom Says:

    zeemaid~ Shaving your head is ballsy. I’ll admit that.
    jc~ Ok, the whole family paingint their heads like pumpkins is AWESOME! I’m so glad you liked your stickers! I saw the unicorn and KNEW it was for you. Ok, why is your town closed for what break?
    Karyn~ Ha. It’s good to know that my boy isn’t too odd.
    TKW~ Thanks. I think that kid is pretty wonderful too.
    Diedra~ Thank you. And I hope everything turned out well on your end.


Leave a Reply

