The empire

Note: I wrote yesterday.  I swear.  But WordPress had some “issues.”  And it didn’t post.  And it didn’t save.  And then I just bit my thumb at the whole thing and thought “Fine.  Be that way.  I’ll post it tomorrow, stupid WordPress.” 

It was cold, windy with the smell of rain in the air.  Evan was whining about the cold and the boredom of being stuck in left field.  I ignored him.  I couldn’t ignore a very upset Aidan, who, like his mama, hated the cold.

We signed Evan up for t-ball because he was really excited about it in the fall.  He didn’t like practicing with us, but he loved going to practice with his teammates.  Since Papi and The Friendly Giant knew little boys preferred to hit and run over throwing and catching, Evan liked practicing with them.

I only got to see 2/3 of the game because Aidan demanded to get out of the cold, and before leaving for the car, I was only able to see a fraction of the game.  So Evan was excited to tell me all about it.

Evan: MOMMY!  Did you see me be the empire?

Me: Excuse me?

Evan: I was the empire!  I always wanted to be the empire!

Me: Oh. You want to be the umpire.

Evan: Yes, the empire.

Me: Sweetheart, you were the catcher.  Not the umpire.

Evan: NO!  I was the empire.  I had a mask and everything.

Rather than argue that point until I was blue in the face, I smiled and moved on.

2 Responses to “The empire”

  1. jc Says:

    Well, the *empire* does strike back, yaknow.

  2. Gibby Says:

    It’s probably a lot more fun being the empire than a catcher. Or an umpire, for that matter. So cute!


Leave a Reply

