Rocket man

Tornado E’s class is learning about space.  Sweet.  The kids were given an assignment to build a rocket.  Double sweet.  I was ecstatic.  I did a little dance.  I, of course, had all sorts of fun materials to build a rocket.

Me: TORNADO E!  We get to build a rocket!

Tornado E: I know!  I’m building it with Legos!

Me: Um, what?  Don’t you want to use other things?  We could find all sorts of neat things to build the rocket with.  (Insert Jedi Mind Trick: You want to build your rocket with stuff other than Legos.)

Tornado E: No, Mommy.  I’m sticking with Legos.  It’ll be neat!

I faked enthusiasm and consoled myself that surely my son would change his mind.

But he didn’t.

Last night he showed me his last revision of his rocket.

Tornado E:  Look, Mommy!  It’s done!  Isn’t it beautiful?  Look at my pattern!  A, B, C, D, A, B, C, B, A, D, C, B, A!

Me: That is one awesome rocket.

Tornado E:  I know!  When my friends see it, it’ll blow their minds!

Well, at least he got his vocabulary from me.

6 Responses to “Rocket man”

  1. jc Says:

    true story.
    i made a rocket in grade school for something. i caught the neighbors grass on fire. that was after the rocket bounced into their porch roof from bouncing off a bedroom window, rolled off the roof smoking, and landed in their yard and literally blew up.
    um, legos doesnt sound too bad. 🙂

  2. TheKitchenWitch Says:

    Mind blowing, no. Mind BLASTING, yes!!!

  3. Karyn @ kloppenmum Says:

    At least he didn’t want to make a life-sized one and try to fly it…

  4. faemom Says:

    jc~ I’m completely unsurprised by this story. You must have been a fun kid.
    TKW~ Exactly!
    Karyn~ Good point. Thanks for seeing the bright side.

  5. zeemaid Says:

    *LOL* you’re definitely going to be the cool mom on the block throwing in the jedi mind trick every now and then.

    I know what you mean though, I’ve actually refrained from buying the girls crafts because I’ll know they won’t recreate the beauty of how it’s supposed to look. *L*

  6. faemom Says:

    I just wanted to do a project with him.


Leave a Reply

