A Little Assertive

Tornado S is my shy one, my “quiet” one, my I-don’t-know-you-so-I-don’t-trust-you one.  And I wouldn’t change him for the world.  At home, with the people he knows, he’s a tornado, spinning destruction, shouting and screaming.  With strangers, he’s quiet, hiding behind my leg.  Unless Tornado E acts like it’s ok.  If Tornado E, who has never met a stranger, is at ease with the person or situation, then so is Tornado S.

Saturday we were at the county fair. Tornado E was going down the large slide, and Tornado S wanted to ride the pirate ships again.  Fine.  Tornado S waited his turn, went in, and choose the boat he wanted.  He waited.

Ride operator: Why don’t you take this boat with this little boy?

Tornado S: No.

Ride operator: It’ll be fun.  You can ride together.

Tornado S: No.  I want this one.

Ride operator: It’s more fun to ride with someone.  Do you want to try?

Tornado S: No.  I want this one.

The ride operator shrugged and put Tornado S into the boat he wanted.

I smiled because even if he’s a little shy, Tornado S can handle himself and feels comfortable to stand firm until he gets what he wants.  That’s my boy.

6 Responses to “A Little Assertive”

  1. SandySays1 Says:

    Goodness, somebody who has some convictions. I hope Sean grows up to be President. We sure could use some folks like him there.
    Sandy
    http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

  2. jc Says:

    I really hate that No doesn’t mean NO! until it is said like 15 zillion dogdamn times.

  3. Karyn @ kloppenmum Says:

    The Owl was much the same when he was younger and is still v-e-r-y good at standing his ground…much to his mother’s frustration at times!

  4. d, the undomestic housewife Says:

    Good for Sean! 🙂
    I don’t think being a little on the shy or reserved side is a bad thing as long as you’re able to stand up for yourself when needed and not let people walk all over you. I think Sean has the perfect balance! 🙂

  5. insider53 Says:

    Good for Sean. He is quite but still a leader not a follower.

  6. faemom Says:

    Sandy~ I just worry about what he would have to give up to be President. Like his soul.
    jc~ I know! Which is why I often say to the boys “no means no” when they try to ignore someone’s no.
    Karyn~ It’s a difficult balance, this parenting thing. Question authority! Just not MY authority!
    d~ You are so very, very right.
    insider~ Yes, he is. I like watching him stand up to his tyrant-in-training brother.


Leave a Reply

