Talking?!

I’m starting to second guess how early babies talk.  Or my kid is a genius.  Or babies really do talk earlier than we imagine.

Two weeks ago, I was grocery shopping with Tornado S and Tornado A, rambling on with some grocery monologue.

Me: . . . And now we’re going to get some Parmesan.

Tornado A: Parmesan.

Me: That’s right.  Parmesan.  It’s a tasty cheese we put on pasta- Wait!  What did you say?!

Tornado A just beamed at me.  I’m sure it happened.

Last week, Tornado E was playing with his Star Wars characters.  Tornado A spotted him and crawled over with record speed.  He used Tornado E to pull himself up.

Tornado A: Brozzzzer!

Me: Brother!

Wait!  Did he do it again?!

Three days ago, we were at my parents’ house, and Tornado A wanted my mom’s plant.  He reached out to grab a leaf.

My mom: No!  Not your pretty.  Nana’s pretty.  (Nana because my mom is desperate for a nickname.)

Tornado A: (grinning) Yeah.

My mom: No!

Tornado A: Yeah!

My mom: No!

Tornado A: Yeah!

My mom: Fae, listen to this.  No!

Tornado A: Yeah!

Holy crap.

Then yesterday, Tornado A fell down and said Uh-oh.

It’s like all those parenting books are BS.

It also looks like I have another talker in the family.  God, we’re not quiet.

6 Responses to “Talking?!”

  1. Kristin Brænne Says:

    ★★★★★

  2. d, the undomestic housewife Says:

    Aww.. how cute! How old is he now? Both of my nieces were early talkers — and still talk non-stop, lol.

  3. jc Says:

    Let me know when he yells PHUCK! like auntie jc! Did you know that the Carlin crowd is highly verbally creative? For real!

  4. Karyn @ kloppenmum Says:

    We’ve had one speak in full sentences by 18 months of age (that other people could understand) and another who was speaking fully at 2 and a half. The Butterfly is a bit slower off the mark (thank-goodness) but understands everything. I keep telling myself the world needs articulate men…but some days I’m not that convincing!

  5. Zeemaid Says:

    awww that’s so cute. I love it when they are learning to talk and of course, your baby is a genius!!!

  6. Fie upon this quiet life Says:

    It’s awesome when babies start talking. My baby is saying “quack quack” to every bird he sees. Uh-oh has been uttered at all the food thrown on the ground. Cracks me up. I love his little voice. Hurray for babies talking!!


Leave a Reply

