Shoes

Last week, it was determined the boys could not wait a moment longer for shoes.  Not a moment longer.  And hell, if that’s what we wanted to do for the evening instead of something fun, like tear apart the house, who was I to get in the way.

But I have a condition.  Good shoes.  No crappy shoes.  Tornado E wore through two pairs of Target shoes before he could out grow them.  We didn’t save a dime buying crappy shoes.  Tornado A is learning to walk.  Our first pediatrician was insistent that we get good shoes for a toddling Tornado E.  “He only has one set of feet.”

My plan was to go up to the outlet mall an hour and half a way and make a day of it.  But since we needed to get shoes today.  Off we ran.

Only to find out the buy one get the one half off sale starts “tomorrow.”

Twenty minutes of driving for nothing.

But my boys had found the Star Wars shoes.  Tornado S had fallen in love with the Darth Vadar shoes.  Designed like the helmet that lit up at the eyes and corner of the “mouthpiece.”  They were on clearance.  In certain sizes.

Oh, Lord, please don’t let me have to break his heart.

But he fit in them.  And danced in them.  And stomped in them.  All the world was a happy place.

And the next day, Tornado E stomped, danced, kicked, jumped in his Captain Rex clone shoes.

And Tornado A.

Watching Tornado A was like watching someone rollerskate for the first time.

He never cried when he fell.  He just picked himself up and toddled again as best he could in shoes.

Sorry, buddy.  We should’ve bought you shoes a long time ago.

5 Responses to “Shoes”

  1. glitter unicorn Says:

    I’m going shoe shopping tomorrow. I need *good* shoes too. My previous crappy crosstrainers are well, crappy. My feet hurt after 20 mins on the elliptical. I hate the mall, but I have to drive by there anyway tomorrow, so maude help me. I’m not leaving until I find a good pair.

    “He never cried when he fell. He just picked himself up and toddled again as best he could in shoes.”
    Some little dude ya gotz there.

  2. Barbara Says:

    Amazing how fast those Target shoes wear out, isn’t it? My kids are going to stay in Stride Rite shoes until they are too old for them anymore. Seriously, except for dirt, those shoes last like brand new for months and months. Thankfully I can always catch a sale at a local retailer that stocks them.

  3. Ink Says:

    Happy New Shoe Day to All At Fae’s House!

    ps: Good luck, Unicorn! May you find the Hallelujia Pair O Shoes!

  4. faemom Says:

    Glitter unicorn~ Good luck. I so need a new pair. But I always put it off. And Aidan is some little dude.
    Barbara~ Amen. I heart Stride Rite shoes.
    Ink~ Now Mama needs a new pair. I have my eye on some bright shiny blue Docs. Hmmmm . . . .

  5. Ink Says:

    YES to Docs! Always! BIG YES!


Leave a Reply

