It’s early in the morning

It’s very late at night or very, very early in the morning on August 10th. I’m preparing for a small get-away with the family.  Like a weekend get-away.  Except it’s not the weekend.  But their father is always mentioning how he can get away whenever we want because he owns his own business.  Some days I challenge that.  This time I won.

Usually I’m scrambling at this time, packing up the car with toys and snacks, fixing up the DVD player (God’s gift to parents), folding last minute laundry.  Usually I’ve spent the evening making some homemade snack, packing clothes and diapers, scrubbing the kitchen.  Usually I’ve spent the day making lists of what needs to be done and what needs to go.

Only this time it’s not that big of a deal.  We’re only going for a few days to a city a few hours away.  We’re not leaving at the crack of dawn.  I have time to pack the car tomorrow in slightly cooler air.  I can have the older boys pack their own toys and pick their own books and DVDs.  We can actually hit a store on the way out of town to stock up on juice, snacks, and caffiene.  The house is clean.  The older boys helped pack their own clothes.

I’m so not used to taking it easy.

This is weird.

I’m going to forget something important, aren’t I?

Note to self: Do NOT forget sleeping things: dinosaur, blanky, and a mama’s shirt.

4 Responses to “It’s early in the morning”

  1. unicorn loves camping Says:

    Do NOT forget the dinosaur. Do. Not. The zombies will eat your brainz if you do. Have a good trip.

    Take the dinosaur, leave the canoli.

  2. zeemaid Says:

    How nice that you guys get along enough to take the kids on small family trips like this. I hope you guys have a wonderful time and that’s relatively stress free for you. 🙂

  3. Jen Says:

    I know exactly what you mean. Sarah and I were talking about this phenomenon today. It’s chaos. Yet the chaos somehow takes care of itself have a great trip!

  4. faemom Says:

    unicorn~ The dinosaur was not forgotten.
    zeemaid~ The kids are more important than our own issues. And you know that vacations are no longer stress free now that there are kids involved.
    Jen~ I know! It’s so weird.


Leave a Reply

