It’s all in the delivery

Me: Thanks so much for using your blinker.  Oh and thanks again for getting in my lane and slowing down.  Much appreciated.

Tornado E: Mommy, why are you thanking him?  You’re not happy.

Kid, Mommy has road rage issues.  And if I can’t use sarcasm, you would have an impressive adult vocabulary.

Me: (sigh) I’m not happy with the driver in front of us.  So I am using sarcasm.  I should just let it go.

Tornado E: Mommy, what’s sarcasm?

The parenting teacher would say it’s Latin for little cuts.  Every time you use sarcasm you are nicking the person’s soul with a word like a razor to skin.

Me: Well, it’s a device for humor.  You say one thing, but you really mean another.  Like how I thank this person  when I want to tell this driver that his driving stinks and is dangerous to us.

A pondering silence.

Tornado E: So if I say, “yum, this broccoli tastes good,” and I don’t like it, is that sarcasm?

Me: Only if you mean it as a joke.  And if it’s at home.  You have to tell Grandma’s and Grandma-Great’s cooking is yummy even if you don’t like it.  They worked hard to cook for you.

Tornado E: I know, Mommy.  What if I say, “sitting in the backseat is fun?”

The force is strong in this one.  He will fit perfectly in our clan of jokesters, pranksters, storytellers, and tricksters.

Me: Yes, that’s good.

***

Me: Pick up your toys.

Tornado E: Oh, good.  Picking up toys is fun.  Mommy, that’s sarcasm.

Me: I got that.

 

5 Responses to “It’s all in the delivery”

  1. ck Says:

    If our oldests ever meet, we’re done for. 🙂

  2. suziejd Says:

    That is so cute. Fun to watch them putting these pieces together.

    [warning: when he’s 14-going-on-15, you’ll look back at this post and wish you could DELETE DELETE DELETE this moment in time. My daughter seems to have forgotten what “not-sarcasm” is.]

  3. Ink Says:

    “The force is strong in this one.” LMAO!

  4. unicorn Says:

    You’re screwed.

  5. faemom Says:

    ck~ Which is why we live nearly a country apart. 🙂
    suziejd~ Wait! You haven’t sent her away to boarding school? My god, you’re a good parent.
    Ink~ Oh, he will impress tha clan at Christmas if he shows his strength.
    unicorn~ Now can you say that with an upbeat?


Leave a Reply

