Recap 8/19

1. Tornado E survived his first day of school and continues to want to go back.  But we haven’t had homework yet, so we’ll see.

2. I’d like to thank Jane for making me all super worried about it because I never went to see the school or any other school or did any other research than, “hey, it has P.E., art, and small classes; perfect.”

3. With the start of school, all my friends want to get together and hang out.

4.  My two little dudes were awesome, coloring, eating, politely talking while their mama had breakfast with three other friends.

5. I’m debating doing a lunch discussion once a week on the blog.  I need a lunch discussion.  I’ve already exhausted all lunch ideas.

6. Still trying to figure out how to organize the office and all that craft stuff.

7. Oh, right.  I have to take writing and math assessment tests.  I really need to be studying.  I’ve systematically erased all knowledge of unuseful math from my brain.  To make way for movie quotes.  It seemed like a good idea at the time.

8. I think Tornado S got the slap-stick gene.

9. I am finally learning that wearing cute, cheap flip-flops (no matter how cute) all the time is very bad idea.  You’d think I would have learned this lesson when I was young, but I had a penchant for hiking boots back then.  Unicorn, any ideas on how to make hiking boots cute?

10. It’s probably a bad thing that the crack in my phone’s face has spiderwebbed and I’m now losing pieces of it, right?

4 Responses to “Recap 8/19”

  1. unicorn Says:

    AHAHAHAH!
    I read #7 and thought you were channeling me. I’m convinced my math ability was erased by 80s music and movies. Then I read #9 and it was for me! HAHAHAHAHAH. I don’t think I ever snazzed up boots since I usually blow through them in a year or two. I don’t mess too much with footware decorating, other than sticking pom poms on my roller stakes (yes, I have skates = black with blue poms).

    I wear Teva sandals – most comfy sandals EVER. I have the “pretty rugged” leather ones, and two other pairs (one pink, one gray) that look like they’ve been discontinued since I can’t find them online. I have never had any problems with tevas in about 10 years of wearing them. I don’t do cork-bottom, I do the cushy rubber soles. They are usually available in cool colors and designs.
    http://www.teva.com/productslist.aspx?g=w&categoryid=751

    The hiking boots I think I sent you a pic of are the most cushy boots I have ever worn. Soooo comfy. If your feet get hot and sweaty, these might not be good for you.
    http://www.sierratradingpost.com/tecnica-dragonfly-lightweight-hiking-boots-mid-for-women~p~3721a/reviews/#reviewsTab

  2. faemom Says:

    unicorn, I heart you.
    I love roller skating. When I graduated college, a friend and I were looking for a dress for me, and we ran into a pair of roller skates. We looked at each other and were like, “why the hell didn’t we roller skate to class for the last 4 years?” And what no cool purple or unicorn shoe laces? And thanks for the links. I’m browsing now. My docs always had cool laces and often labels on the heel. The old school raised-letter labels. Like “left” and “right” Or “house of” “insanity.” And such.I have this thing for light up and sparkly shoes. I’m totally envious of Evan’s friends’ shoes. I need a combination of a kick ass hiking boot but with a fairy flair.

  3. unicorn Says:

    OMG I WANT LIGHT UP BOOTS.

    I rollerskated in the lab for years between waiting for samples to do their thing on various machines. One of my students bought me a disco ball. I still have it and use it. I bought a roommate a pair of skates for a birthday so she skated in her lab too. We were t-r-o-u-b-l-e.

  4. faemom Says:

    unicorn, you are so awesome! We have to find light up boots!


Leave a Reply

