A late apology

“Hello?”

“Hi, Mom.  I’m sorry.”

“What for?”

“Remember the time I was about two, and I walked away from you and Dad when we were at the state fair, and you had to split up to find me, and a ten-year old girl found me and sat down with me to wait for you guys to find me, and Dad found me first, and you came with two huge, young security guards.  I’m sorry for that.

“I’m sorry for the time that I walked away from you at the county fair at two and half.”

“You walked away from us the next year after that.”

“Huh.  I don’t remember that.  I do remember walking away from you in Vegas at Circus Circus.  I’m sorry about that.”

“You were three.  We turned around, and you were gone.”

“You lost your contact.  I knew it was going to take a while, so I decided to go back and look at the doll I wanted.  But I’m sorry any ways.  I’m also sorry for all those times I walked away in stores.”

“The worse part is you never looked lost, so no one knew.  It was always hard to find you.  That’s why we trained you guys to come to the whistle.  If they had leashes, back then-”

“Harnesses, Mom.  Not leashes.  But I’m sorry.”

“So which kid did you lose?”

“Sean.”

4 Responses to “A late apology”

  1. Donna Says:

    I am really laughing hard at this. What goes around, comes around. I see it a lot with my grown daughters. Thanks.

  2. unicorn Says:

    Crap.

    ((((Fae))))
    Check your snail!

  3. zeemaid Says:

    What a scare to think you’ve lost a child. I’m sure every parent has been through it and it’s not a pleasant experience to say the least. Nothing like parenting your own children to make you realize how much we owe our parents, eh?

  4. Elastamom Says:

    Matthew thought we left him at a baseball game (he was in the bathroom and we moved around the corner) and he was devastated!!!! I am sure you were scared.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 253 other followers

