The Happiest Day Ever!

Tornado E saw me and ran.

Tornado E: MOMMY!!!!

He threw himself at me for a hug.  He turned to his friends.

Tornado E: It’s TUESDAY!!!  I get an ICEE!! I get to go to religious class!  IT’S THE HAPPIEST DAY EVER!!!

I think I’ll let you narrate your own adult bemused cynicism.

Holding hands, we walked across the bus drive through to the car with two waiting boys.

Tornado E: Mommy, what was your happiest day ever?!  (Pause)  Was it your wedding day?!

Me: (Smiling) No.  I’m lucky to have three happiest days ever.

Tornado E: Really?!  What was your first happiest day ever?

Me: It was the day I got to hold you for the first time.

Tornado E: (grinning) Wow!  What was your second happiest day ever?

Me: Well, that would be the day I got to hold Tornado S for the first time ever.

Tornado E: (smiling bigger) Really?  Wow!  What was your third happiest ever day?

Me: Easy.  That was the day I held Tornado A the first time.

Tornado E: (smiling from ear to ear)   WOW!!!  Three happiest days ever!  And three boys!

Me: Yup, I’m one lucky Mommy.

Tornado E threw himself into my arms for another hug.

3 Responses to “The Happiest Day Ever!”

  1. mrs.d Says:

    So stinking adorable!

  2. Fie Upon This Quiet Life Says:

    So sweet. I bet you made his day even more happy. 🙂

  3. beth reed Says:

    Sigh…. Makes me wish my kids were little again…ahhhh great post.


Leave a Reply

