Leavings

Sometimes when I look behind me at my past, all I see are footprints of those you walked out of my life.  Some of those people I pushed out, kicked out, do-let-the-door-hit-your-@ass-on-the-way-out kind of out.  And others I held dearly and watched them break my heart as they left.  Some of those people I should have kicked out, but I loved them too much at one point.

Another friend is leaving.  The Twins’ Mom.  And it hurts.  I adore her.  Simply adore her.  She’s blunt and in your face.  She’ll drop everything to help out a stranger.  She’s frazzled and completely lost in this parent thing.  She’s absolutely wonderful.

She was one of the first friends I made at Tornado E’s preschool.  I wasn’t gunning for her, but we clicked.  She wanted a wall between us because she was hoping to move back East, back to family.  She didn’t want to leave friends behind, again.  But we pulled her in, and she was one of us.  And when my life went to hell in a hand basket, she met me for coffee and waited for me to tell the truth drop by drop over a matter of weeks until she had the whole story.  During that time, she rubbed my shoulder and told me that Mercury in retrograde is a b*tch; you’re learning all your life lessons at once; you just have to ride it out.  When she magically appeared at the kindergarten open house, she shrugged and told me that the school was the best fit for the kids, not the other one.  She stood by me through trying months, and she was the first to recognize when I started smiling in the morning.    While she didn’t always get my sense of humor, we always had fun.

So when I get a text like this:

I need you.  I need your support. I need you to make me laugh.  Come over.

I had to respond:

I can’t Tornado A is napping.

She responded:

Crap.  When can you come over?

Me:

After school?  Tomorrow?  Not the next day.  How about the day after that?

She:

Soon.  You always make me laugh.  And I need that as I pack.

Me:

You need to laugh?  Oh.  Tornado E wanted me to take a picture of him naked for a friend.

She:

It’s a whole new world out there.

Me:

I told him there was *never* *ever* EVER a good reason to take a picture of yourself naked.  *EVER*

She:

LOL  You’re such a good parent.  I would never have thought to say that.

Me:

Experience is a b*tch.

She:

No!

Me:

Yeah, well, we were all young and stupid once.

She:

LOL You have to tell me!

Me:

You’ll have to get me drunk for that.  Very drunk.  Good luck with that.

She:

It would make me feel better!

She:

You know, you did organize a Mom’s Night Out next week.

Me:

Drunk.  Very, very drunk.

She:

You always make me laugh.

I’m going to miss her like crazy.  But in this world, with this technology, you’re only as far away as you want to be.  Texting, emailing, facebooking, web cam for the kids.  I am blessed with friends around the country, friends that make up my varsity team.  She’ll just be amongst a good crowd.

But I’m never telling her that story.

One Response to “Leavings”

  1. Elastamom Says:

    Hopefully it will be one of those things where, no matter how long you’ve been apart, you’ll sync again like no time has passed at all.


Leave a Reply

