A Discussion with a Four Year Old

Tornado S: Where is the Emperor?

Me: What?

Tornado S: Where is the Emperor?

Me: I don’t know, sweetheart.

Tornado S: YOU do know!

Me: No.  I do not.  It’s not my toy.  Where did you have it last?

Tornado S: I don’t know.  YOU do!

Me: No.  I don’t.

Tornado S: It’s in the car!  Get it!

Me: No.  Hold on.  (pause) No.  It’s not in the car.  You took your lightsaber and blanky with you.  Not your Star Wars figures.

Tornado S: No!  I had the Emperor!

Me: No.  You had your lightsaber.  Remember?

Tornado S: Where is the Emperor?!  Get it!

Me: I don’t know where it is.

Tornado S: Yes, YOU do!

Me: (sigh. pause.  think.) You had it on your dresser while you dressed.  Did you move it?

Tornado S: You’re right!!!  It’s on my dresser.

Me: Well, then.  Now you know where it is.

Tornado S: Go get it!

I’m going to find some chocolate.

One Response to “A Discussion with a Four Year Old”


Leave a Reply

