Career Advice

Tornado E: My teacher says there are no ninjas in fairy tales.

Me: Maybe she’s thinking of the wrong fairy tales.  Maybe we should look in Chinese or Japanese fairy tales.

Tornado E: No.  She said there weren’t any.

Me: Then we should write some.  Would you like to write some fairy tales about ninjas with me?

Tornado E: You should write them!  Then you can be a famous writer as well as my Mommy!

Me: That’s not a bad idea.

(Pause)

Wait a minute.

Me: Tornado E, do you know what I went to college for?  Do you know what I went to school to learn to do?

Tornado E: No.

Me: I went to school to learn to write, to become a writer.

(Pause)

Tornado E: I don’t want to be a writer when I grow up.  Ok?

Me: (chuckling) You can do whatever you want when you grow up.

One Response to “Career Advice”


Leave a Reply

