This is going to be more difficult than I thought

We have a pacifier problem.  It’s my fault.  I’ve been lazy.

When Tornado E was a babe in arms, I read an article that insisted the breaking the pacifier habit should be the last milestone in a toddlers life.  It was more important to wean the child, to teach the child to eat, to potty train the child.  As long as the pacifier was used only at bedtime.  Because after a few minutes the pacifier drops out of the sleeping child’s mouth, and it’s done.

It is great advice.  I followed it with Tornado E and Tornado S.  I’m sort of following it with Tornado A.  But I don’t insist enough that he takes it out during the day.  He wanders around with it.  I take it away, and he finds a new one and wanders around with it.  I see it and wait for the right moment to snag it, like during a juice break.  But then I forget until I see Tornado A wandering around with it.  I don’t want a temper tantrum, so I vow to do it next time.

But today I remembered what I did with Tornado E and Tornado S when they found a pacifier during the day.  I pretended not to understand them and ask them to take out the binky.  I would hold it for them as they talked and then answer their question or give them what they are asking for, and then the binky would slip into my pocket.  The boys would run off to play.

I got Tornado A out of his crib from his nap and sat down to watch him move around the stuff animals.

Tornado A: (mumbles) This way!

Me: I can’t understand you.  ( I mimed taking out a pacifier out of my mouth.)  Take out your binky.

Tornado A: (mumbles) This way!

Me: ( I shook my head.) I can’t understand you.  (I mimed again.) Take out your binky.

Tornado A: (gives me the look and dramatically points to the door and mumbles) THIS WAY!

Me: ( I shook my head.)  I can’t understand you.  (I mimed again.) Take out your binky.

A beat.

Tornado A walked over to me and grabbed my arm to lift me up.  I stood.  He took my hand and lead me out of his room.

Check and mate.

One Response to “This is going to be more difficult than I thought”

  1. Naptimewriting Says:

    HAHAHAHAHAhahahahahahahaha.

    Awesome.


Leave a Reply

