Kindergarten

Today was Tornado S’s first day, and he was excited.  His teachers were also excited, remembering him as Tornado E’s cute little brother.  He wore his favorite shirt.  He loved taking his backpack and lunch.  I snapped a few pictures, recorded a pre-school interview with the Flip, and waited with him for the doors to open.

When the doors opened, I gave him a quick hug and a kiss on his head.  Tornado S took a step towards the classroom.  He turned back to me and threw his arms around me.  He raised his face for a kiss on the lips.  I gave him a good squeeze.  He ran into the classroom.

My chest squeezed a bit.  My heart picked up its pace.  I took a deep breath.  My second baby was going to school full time.

Because kindergarten is a new and big thing, the first day is a half day with lunch, so that the kids can get to know each other a little better.  When I picked Tornado S up at noon, he ran out of the classroom and gave me a huge hug.

Tornado S: MOMMY!  You gave me a DEATH STAR SANDWICH!

Me: Did you like anything else?

Tornado S: I had STAR WARS FRUITSNACKS!  And STRING CHEESE!  And a NOTE!  And a FRUIT LEATHER!  And a STAR WARS NAPKIN!

Me: Was it a good lunch?

Tornado S: YEAH!

Me: Did you have a good day at school?

Tornado S: YEAH!

My second baby is in kindergarten.  I just hope I have the energy and time to make special lunches until they tell me not to.

Leave a Reply

