God’s Creatures

We live three miles from Hell.  Like we tied the record for days 100+.  That’s just wrong.  We have things like venomous snakes and scorpions and spiders.  And cockroaches.  Not poisonous but annoying all the same.

To escape the heat, to drag the boys away from video games, to teach Tornado A to swim, we travel the 5 minutes to my parents’ house to enjoy the pool.  We leave suits and towels over there, since we go almost every day.  I dry my suit in the bathroom to preserve it from the sun, hoping it’ll last for more than one season.

The other day, Tornado S was taking his sweet time getting ready, so my mom got into her suit and took Tornado E and Tornado A out to the pool.  Once I got Tornado S on the task of getting dressed, I went into the bathroom to get ready.  Dressed only in my underwear, I picked up my swim top from hanging over the bathtub.  Something black fell out and landed on my foot and then scurried away.  I let out a yell.

Tornado S: (From the living room) Mommy?!  Are you ok?!

I watched as a good size cockroach tried to scurry into the corner of bathtub and wall, looking for an escape.

Me: I’m fine!  I found a cockroach!

I sneered and found my sandal.  With a nudge, it scurried out into the open.  I banged it several times with my shoe.

Tornado S: Mommy!  Don’t kill it!  It’s one of God’s creatures!

I banged my shoe on the smudge a few more times just to make sure it was completely, totally dead.

Me: Sorry, baby!  It’s already dead!

I scooped it up with a Kleenex and flushed it down the toilet.

One of God’s creatures.  Ha.

Leave a Reply

