Futility

I feel a bit defeated this evening.

Yesterday I worked my butt off cleaning the house. I put things on hold, so I could get my chores done. I figured one good scrub, and it will be minor maintenance for the rest of the week; I surely could get all my other stuff done tomorrow night.

Sigh. I’m an idiot.

The floors are thrashed once again. The toys, picked up this morning, were scattered by bedtime again. I forgot to inspect the toy room before bedtime again. The island is holding clutter again. The table is filled with half-built Lego projects again. The sink is filled with dirty dishes again. The toilets are peed on again. The bathroom floors are covered with dirty footprints again. The bathroom sinks are covered with a layer of toothpaste spit again. Honestly, why did I clean yesterday?

Since I had to do triage, I didn’t have time to finish everything I needed/wanted to do today.

If anyone wants me, I’ll be in my room. (Lisa Simpson, “Bart Gets Famous.” Last lines of the show)

Oh dear god, they left toys and books all over my room!

 

 

2 Responses to “Futility”

  1. alenaslife Says:

    I feel your pain. I said to my husband the other day, “If we could just keep the dining room table from getting covered in piles.” That’s it. Such a small, but seemingly achievable goal. And within days it’s not achievable at all. I live in the chaos until I can’t take it a moment more. Then we purge. It’s a nonstop cycle.

  2. dearanonymousfriend Says:

    Believe me, there will come a time when you will look for some sign that they have been home and miss them when you realized you cleaned last week and there is still no mess in their rooms. Great post. DAF


Leave a Reply

