Quoting and Alluding

I once spent the drive from Orange, CA to Las Vegas, NV quoting The Simpsons with my college best friend. It’s about a four hour drive. I’m sure the other friend was wishing she had the guts to jump out of the car.

So to quote Homer Simpson. “Kids are great. You get to teach them to hate what you hate.” Or in my case, I get to teach them to love what I love. Sometimes you both (or all four, in my case) fall in love with the same thing at the same time.

We all love the Disney cartoon Star vs the Forces of Evil. If you haven’t seen it, I recommend you do. It’s amazing. I wish I had something like it when I was a kid. A magical princess who fights monsters with her best friend, a karate “safe kid.” And the magical princess is a perfect mix of traditional boy things (like fighting monsters and weapons) and traditional girl things (wearing girly dresses and her spells are the cutest, angriest things). So naturally, I have taught my boys to quote the show or allude to it.

When I leave for work:

Tornado E: (quoting Marco) Don’t go.

Me: (quoting Star) I’m totally going.

 

When he wants a snack:

Tornado A: (in sing-song Marco voice) I want Mama’s Amazing Nachos.

 

When doing his homework:

Tornado S: (quoting Star) So this is what it’s like to be bored to death.

 

When playing with his narwhal:

Tornado A: (quoting Star) Narwhal blast! (Then throws the narwhal at me)

 

When reminding the boys of Stranger Danger:

Me: (quoting Marco) Never go with a predator to a second location.

 

When one of the boys gets angry at one of his brothers:

Me: (quoting Brian and walking the angry boy in a circle) Walk it out and talk it out. Walk it out and talk it out. Walk it out and talk it out.

 

Or other random quotes:

“It’s not criminal to be an individual.”

“Totally. Totally. Totally.”

“I want you face.”

“I want my stuff.”

“What are you doing here?” “Wouldn’t you want to know?” “Yes, that’s why I asked.”

 

We’re going to have so much fun as they get older.

 

Leave a Reply

