Wonder Woman: A Review and a Typical Mom-Blog Post

Last Wednesday, I finally took the boys to see Wonder Woman.

We had the usual misadventures. Kids not wanting to go. Kids not able to find their shoes. Red lights and crappy drivers. And oh-my-god, who decides what they want to watch at the register?!?! Are you kidding me?!

And we get there, and I sit the boys before I get the all important popcorn. Yes, I did spring for the souvenir cup because it’s WONDER WOMAN.

I was a little excited.

More so since I had just finished reading the graphic novel DC Universe Rebirth Wonder Woman Volume 2: Year One. I wasn’t a big fan of Wonder Woman growing up. I felt she was forced on me because I was a girl. My heroes were She-Ra, Red Sonja, Princess Leia, and later on, Jean Grey. But after reading vol 2 (before vol 1 because I love origin stories), I really enjoyed Wonder Woman. She was the best part of Batman v Superman. I got the animation movie a couple of weeks ago and watched it with the boys to prepare them for Wonder Woman.

Just as the DC intro started, I whispered a prayer. “Please don’t suck.”

And it was amazing! The fight scenes were amazing. Wonder Woman was amazing. She was innocent and tough, hopeful and passionate, warrior and princess. And the boys loved it.

Tornado E kept talking to Tornado S, discussing scenes and plot points. And what the hell, boys? Tornado S is my movie talker. That’s why I buy popcorn. Have some popcorn. Stop talking!

I think Tornado A, at 7 years old, was a little too young to see the movie, but I’m glad he went. This movie is so important for little girls. Representation matters. But my boys deserve female superheroes to look up to. Hell, they deserve female heroes to look up to.

Growing up with boys, loving superheros and Star Wars, growing up in the 80s, I was keenly aware of how little female representation there was. I loved Indiana Jones. I wanted to be him. I loved Han Solo and Luke Skywalker. I wanted to be like them. I watched the boys have all the fun, adventuring, fighting, saving the day. I wanted it too. While Red Sonja loomed in my childhood, seeing Tank Girl was amazing. A girl, who was weird and different and drove a tank. Wow. And the little girl of me would have loved the Wonder Woman. A princess with a sword and shield. Wow.

So my review, amazing. But I love comic book movies. I adore them. But this was a well-made movie, go see it.

As for the boys. They really enjoyed it. It was a tad too long for them, but they were interested. Tornado E prefers the comic book introduction. Tornado S and Tornado A prefer the animated movie. They have the same reason. It’s about Steve Trevor, the character they really identified with. Also I think Tornado E really wanted to see more of the Amazons learning about Steve and his world before sending Diana out.

So everyone loved it. I will totally see the movie again in theaters. Now the anticipation for the next Star Wars movie begins….

Leave a Reply

