Fandom

Wally: You know I’ll never have a mom like the country songs. The ones where my mom is my biggest fan. I’ll never know what that means.

Me: I know.

During the hellish year of being a temporary sub, I had all sorts of people from the school and district come and observe me and then offer me advice, starting with “if you don’t mind, I have a few critiques…”

And I would say, “I’m great at handling criticism. I have a overly critical mother.”

In fact, I’m wondering if I should make her a reader. She would really shred my manuscript apart.

So, yeah, my mom is not my biggest fan. Will never be. And that’s ok.

Yesterday I was at Panda Express with the boys, enjoying their company as we chowed down. We got to the fortunes, and we naturally became the Star fanboys and fangirl that we are.

Tornado E: (pretending to read his fortune) A great evil has been released.

Me: (pretending to read my fortune) Love is always the answer.

Tornado S: Love is never the answer.

Me: Hey. I wanted to say that!

And then we all read our fortunes for real, and I went last.

Me: “The world is ready for your talents. Don’t hold back.” Huh.

Tornado E: You have lots of talents, Mama! You should show the world!

Me: Thanks, Baby. (Then forgetting I was in public, in front of the boys, I said to myself {I totally talk out loud to myself, a horrible habit picked up when I was a lonely kid who had no one to talk to and still as an adult when I have no one to talk to; a cruel joke, an introvert with a need to talk.}) I wonder if my boys would be my biggest fans. Huh. Weird to create your own fandom.

Tornado E: We are your biggest fans, Mama! You’re awesome!

With that, I realized that my tornadoes, my herd of dragons, my entourage was really my fandom. I’m kind of lucky that way.

Leave a Reply

