Worry Doll

Lately I’ve been having nightmares every night about my failure as a parent. Stupid things. But obviously my sub-conscious wants me to work something out.

This morning I told my dad my latest nightmare. He shook his head with a grin because it wasn’t much of a nightmare.

Tornado A: Mama, are you worried?

Me: Yes, baby.

Tornado A: About what?

Me: About you boys and being a good mother.

Tornado A gave me a solemn nod and ran off.

Later as I finished getting dressed, Tornado A sat on my bed.

Tornado A: Mama, make sure you sleep on this pillow.

He pulled it back to show me the tiny worry doll from his set that I got him months ago from the Grand Canyon.

I gave him a hug and kiss.

Me: Thank you, baby.

2 Responses to “Worry Doll”

  1. Guillermo Corona Says:

    I remember about three or so years ago. I was going through a particularly rough patch in my life. My ex and I split not too long after our son was born. Amicable and all. But things got worse after. Fell into a sort of depression. And that was beginning to interfere with fatherhood. My son spent week nights with me, so he slept on my bed (this is before I got one of his own). I guess I didn’t hide it too well. Or maybe kids are too in tune with adult emotions. Who knows. I just remember waking up a few nights later because my pillow felt extra lumpy. I looked under it, but nothing. Inside the pillow case, though, was a stuff fox. His favorite at the time. Not sure what was going through his mind, or if it was accidental. But it sure as hell helped me.

  2. faemom Says:

    I think children are empathetic than we give them credit for, and they view the world differently than we do. If the fox helped him, surely it will help you too.


Leave a Reply

