Tornado E’s sushi roll

I love spicy tuna hand rolls!  I would kill for a good one.  Mmmm.  Of course, they come second to a good hamburger, but I assure you, it’s a close second.  You can imagine my delight when we noticed Tornado E’s sushi set had a tuna hand roll.  Well, it’s not quite spicy, but we can make it work.

If you don’t know what’s in a tuna hand roll, it’s tuna and cucumber or avocado with some sort of spicy herb that I can’t find the name of wrapped in rice and seaweed to make a cone for your hand.  With spicy tuna, the ground of the tuna with spices to make it nice and hot.  A great spicy tuna is heaven. *

Mmmm. Plastic hand roll.

Mmmm. Plastic hand roll.

Tornado E: This is a spicy hand roll.  The black is seaweed.  The white is rice.  The red is spicy tuna.  And the green is guacamole.

Um.  Not quite the right ethnic group or continent.  But the right vegetable, so close enough.

*I understand not everyone can stomach or understand the delight that is eating raw fish, which I get because I would never have believed as a kid that I would eat raw fish and want to go back.  With that said, I have never got food poison from eating sushi.  That is usually fried shrimp.  And I believe you shouldn’t knocked until you tried it, but then I don’t think you’ll ever get me to try blood pudding or brains of any kind.
Vote for my post on Mom Blog Network

8 Responses to “Tornado E’s sushi roll”

  1. KathyB! Says:

    I think it’s great that you’ve got his little mind opened beyond the realm of burgers and fries! Good for you!!

    And maybe you should try it with guacamole?! Maybe he’s the next Bobby Flay!

  2. Court Says:

    Ew. Blood pudding? Seriously, that is real? I love veggie sushi. All the goodness, none of the grossness.

  3. insider53 Says:

    My hubby loves the stuff but I am allergic to fish. I would not touch blood pudding or spotted dick or any of the other Anglo Saxon dishes from Briton, Scotland, Ireland, etc. Great countries, beautiful countries, but messed up food.

  4. Gramma R Says:

    SPICY TUNA – YUM. BLOOD PUDDING – DON’T KNOCK IT ‘TIL YOU TRY IT. BRAINS – NEVER!!!

  5. Evenshine Says:

    Ever had ceviche? Raw fish, marinated in lemon. Nectar of the Gods, I swear. Though a nice hand roll will do wonders, too.

  6. Gibby Says:

    Spicy tuna is yummy!!!
    You are lucky, because I am sure my girls wouldn’t go near it, considering one of them is DEADLY afraid of seaweed and would never be able to disconnect the kind you eat from the kind that wraps around your ankle while swimming in the lake. Yep, pretty sure she would have a heart attack.

    More for me, then.

  7. vanessaj8 Says:

    YUMMY! Most of my kiddies LOVE sushi.

  8. faemom Says:

    KathyB!~ Good point!
    Court~ That’s what Evan eats now, but he talks about sushi non-stop. I fear going out will get more and more expensive.
    insider~ Ha! My mom takes credit for my brothers and I loving sushi though my mom hates fish, rarely serving it, and my dad hates anything raw. So I don’t know where the credit comes from.
    Gramma~ I know. I know. I’m as bad as Evan who won’t touch tomatos or ham or turkey or green beans or spinach or . . .
    Even~ I totally need to try it. It sounds yummy.
    Gibby~ Evan only eats cucumber sushi right now. Maybe try them on that in soy paper. (It can come in pink!) Of course, once they’re hooked, sushi dinners will get a lot more expensive.
    vanessa~ Awesome! Way to go! It’s great that their minds are opened so young.


Leave a Reply

