All in a morning’s work

I might have once or twice hinted at the HUGE weapon stockade at my house.  Rarely do we see a gun of any sort, but we have a enough swords to arm our own 15th century squadron.  We have a few shields and daggers, as well as one bow and one battle axe.  Thank God, we don’t own any maces or morning stars, but I fear one day we will.

My sons often arm themselves before they go into public.  What is a pirate without a sword?  What is a knight without his sword?  What is a Jedi without a lightsaber?  And if one boy must have one, the both must have one.  I keep an eye on where they take them because I won’t let the boys go armed in stores, restaurants, and sometimes parks.  At school, the weapon must be relinquished before Tornado E goes into the class room.  But that boy is sneaky.

The other day as Tornado E rushed passed me to rush passed his teacher.

Me: (Using The Voice) Tornado E!  Give me the axe!  Bring me the axe!

Tornado E spun on his heel and stalked back to me with his head bowed.  His teacher pondered the scene.  His other teacher popped out her head out the doorway.

Teacher #2: Did she just say “axe?”

Tornado E handed me the battle axe, and I gave him a hug, shifting Tornado A’s weight around.

Teacher #1: She did.  We don’t hear “axe” very often.  Sword or gun, yes.  Axe, no.

Me: (Tornado A on my left hip, axe in my right hand) That’s funny.  I say it everyday.

5 Responses to “All in a morning’s work”

  1. kloppenmum Says:

    I’m a mother of three boys too…almost nine, five and half and a 15 month old. Got the weapon thing. Laughed really hard at the Penis Rules posts. Quite agree: men would hold their penises all day if they didn’t have to wear pants.

  2. jc Says:

    You Battle Axe You!

  3. kloppenmum Says:

    It’s called survival!

  4. faemom Says:

    kloppenmum~ Thanks you. It’s nice to meet a mom who understands these battles so well.
    jc~ That’s me!

  5. kloppenmum Says:

    Likewise, I’m sure.


Leave a Reply

